top of page
shine-like-a-star-banner-for-doc (1).png
Reception - Curriculum

The EYFS framework includes 7 areas of learning and development that are equally important and interconnected. However, 3 areas known as the prime areas are seen as particularly important for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building children’s capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

The prime areas are:

  • Communication and language

  • Physical development

  • Personal, social and emotional development

The prime areas are strengthened and applied through 4 specific areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design

Our topic starts with us immersing children in high quality stories and texts. This forms the foundation for learning that follows, this also prepares pupils well for the reading and writing journey that follows from Reception onwards. We encourage children to share what they already know and incorporate their ideas into our curriculum offer.

bottom of page